FRISKNEY HALF MARATHON ROAD RACE.

A record one hundred and forty four runners finished this years Friskney Half Marathon Road Race on Easter Monday. Boston and District A.C. officials were delighted with the increased number of entries for the 2009 event and particularly pleased with the high proportion of finishers of the race.

The race winner was Paul Dodsworth returning to his childhood home area now representing Warrington A.C. who recorded 76 mins. 30 secs for the traditional 13 miles plus half marathon distance. Paul a Veteran 40 representative had a good lead at the end of the race and crossed the finish line almost three minutes ahead of his nearest challenger. Good conditions around the flat Friskney course helped the competitors produce some good times as a number were using the race in their preparations for next Sunday's London Marathon. Second man home and first in the Senior Mens age category was Ben Evison with another Veteran Matthew Nutt in third position recording 79 mins 49 secs.. Using his local knowledge of the course to his advantage Chris. Rainbow was the first of the host club's runners to finish recording 80 mins. 33 secs. in a very good fifth place. Back from competing in his native Portugal Jose` Ferreira was the "Gold Tops" second man home as he crossed the finish line in fourteenth place clocking 85 mins. 19 secs. with Edgars Sokolovskis completing the first trio of B.A.D.A.C. runners recording 86 mins. 30 secs. in sixteenth position. Dennis Rainbow was twenty fifth (88 mins. 13 secs.), Igors Vasillisins claimed fifty first position (96 mins. 47 secs.), Tony Tomlin was ninety fifth (111 mins. 09 secs.), Darren Auty one hundred and second (113 mins. 37 secs.) and Bob Shaw one hundred and thirty sixth (130 mins. 10 secs.) for the host club. In the womens categories the winner was local Lincoln Wellington A.C. member Lucinda Pitcher who recorded 86 mins. 35 secs. in seventeenth place overall and Sue Woodham (B.A.D.A.C.) completed the half marathon in a time of 140 mins. 20 secs.. Both the Mens and Womens team winners awards went to Lincoln Wellington A.C. with Andy Golightly (Marathon B.W.R.A.) the winner of the Wheelchair

event.